Try a New Technique Tuesday

During the past month of my “art therapy” journey, I’ve discovered a passion for making background papers for future collage projects. I’m actually thinking about doing a blog giveaway of some of my background papers for one lucky winner to use on their craft projects. Would you be interested? Let me know.

Pinterest has enabled me to try a variety of new techniques. This is probably my favorite one so far.

One of the easiest and fastest ways to create a background is to simply squirt some paint onto your page then move it around with an old credit card or key card. With this technique your paint will dry super quick, you waste little to no paint, and it creates a neat printmaking effect! Scrape the paint up and down, then scrape side to side, letting the colors mix slightly.

©Kristal Norton – Read more at: http://kristalnorton.com/art-journaling-101-background-techniques

background-technique-3

Here is one example of a background I made using this technique. I added circles by stamping with a soda bottle cap,

background-technique-1

Here is another one with bubble wrap stamping on top.

background-technique-2

This one probably shows how you can blend color the best. The circles are bottle cap stamped.

background-technique

I embellished the circles with some buttons for this one. The lighter areas are actually silver, but the color doesn’t photograph very well. 

The verdict on this technique? Awesome and satisfying! Dare I say it? Craftgasmic! I had almost as much fun as this lady. Hahaha!!

 

 

Leave a Reply

